Monday, November 28th, 2022 10:19:38

why was RSS Born ?

By Manoj Dubey
Updated: November 6, 2022 7:39 pm

The first freedom struggle was fought in 1857 and the Congress Party (Indian National Congress) was founded in 1885 by A O Hume, a retired civil service officer. U C Banerjee was the first President of INC. It is important for us to understand that the Freedom Struggle of India started much before the birth of the Congress Party and therefore it is not correct to say that we are a free nation because of Congress only,  The first session of INC held in Poona, was attended by 72 delegates, representing each province of India. Most of the representatives of Congress were Hindus, hence the Muslims felt isolated and to safeguard the rights of Indian Muslims, The Muslim League was founded in 1906.Sir Sultan Mohammad Shah (Aga Khan 3) was its first honorary President. And with the passage of time, it demanded separate land for Muslims which resulted in the birth of Pakistan in 1947.

In 1925 The RashtriyaSwayamsevakSangh (RSS) was founded by Dr. K B Hedgewar (to unite and protect the interests of Hindus). It is the progenitor and the leader of a large body of organisations called the SanghParivar. Its initial impetus was on providing character training through Hindu discipline and to unite the Hindu community to form a Hindu Rashtra. This right-wing organisation promotes the ideals of upholding Indian culture and the values of the civil society. It also spreads the ideology of Hindutva to strengthen the Hindu community. The RSS gradually grew into a prominent Hindu nationalist umbrella organisation, spawning several affiliated organisations that established schools, charities and clubs to spread its ideological beliefs.

After Hedgewar, the RSS was headed by Gurujee MS Golwalkar and later by BalaSahebDeoras. Presently Mohan Bhagwat is the RSS supremo. The RSS presents itself as a cultural and non-political organisation that advocates the Hindu nationalist agenda under the banner of Hindutva or ‘Hinduness’. A major emphasis is placed on dedication and discipline, both mental and physical, to restore strength and courage in Hindu youth and to foster unity among Hindus of all castes and classes. Paramilitary training and daily exercise and drill are part of this discipline.

During the Chinese war in 1962, the RSS provided active help to the civil administration and the then Prime Minister Pt Nehru was impressed with this role of the RSS and invited a contingent of 100 swayamsevaks to 1963 Republic Day Parade. At the time of 1965 war with Pakistan, then Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri invited the RSS chief M S Golwalkar to an all-party meet. The RSS was asked to relieve a part of Delhi Police of their routine duties to enable it to focus on strategic tasks for the war and it was done by the RSS. Its volunteers also helped in removing the snow from Srinagar airport during the war. It is focussed on serving the nation, running large number of welfare projects for the marginalised sections of the society and has always been on the forefront in serving the people during any calamity or disaster. A Supreme Court’s Retd. Justice said “after the constitution, democracy and armed forces, the RSS is the factor that has made the people of India safe”.

The RSS has been banned by the Indian government. led by Congress party three times since its inception. The first time after the assassination of Mahatma Gandhi in 1948 and the second time during the emergency in 1975 and lastly in 1992 after the demolition of the Babri structure.

The Bhartiya Jan Sangh (BJS) was established in 1951 as the political wing of RSS by Shyama Prasad Mookerjee. The BJS advocated the rebuilding of India in accordance with Hindu culture. In 1967, the BJS gained a substantial foothold in Hindi speaking regions of Northern India. Ten years later in 1977, the party, led by Atal Bihari Vajpayee, joined three other political parties to form the Janta Party (during JP movement) and took over the reins of the government. headed by Morarji Desai. Plagued by factionalism and internal disputes, the govt. collapsed in 1979 and the Janta Party disintegrated. The BhartiyaJanta Party (BJP) was formally established in 1980. BJP in fact is the new name of BJS.

The BJP’s members for the first time became the ministers in the Janta Party’s government. headed by Morarji Desai in 1977. The NDA govt. headed by Atal Bihari Vajpayee came into power in 1999 and lost to UPA in 2004. After ten years, NDA again formed the government.  headed by Narendra Modi in 2014. The people of India again voted NDA to power with Narendra Modi as the PM in 2019.

The RSS has given good leaders like Vajpayee, Advani and Modi. The good work done by the RSS and the BJP is appreciated and it is hoped this combination continues to serve the nation.


By Manoj Dubey
(Retd. Principal, Delhi Public Schools)

Comments are closed here.