Friday, January 27th, 2023 04:19:08

Why BJP extended JP Nadda’s term

Updated: January 17, 2023 7:17 pm

The BJP’s national executive meeting, which had been going on for two days in Delhi, ended on Tuesday with Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s address. The PM said in his address that only 400 days are left for the next Lok Sabha elections. In such a situation, the party officials and every worker have to go to the door to meet each and every voter.

Taking a major decision on the second day of the meeting, the party approved the extension of National President JP Nadda. Nadda’s tenure has been extended till June 2024. Nadda’s current term was ending on January 20. Now he will take charge of the party till the Lok Sabha elections.

Home Minister Amit Shah announced the extension to JP Nadda. He has become the third BJP leader after LK Advani and Amit Shah, who has been made the president for the second consecutive time. Although Rajnath Singh also became the party president twice, his tenure was not continuous.

Amit Shah counted the successes of the organization during Nadda’s tenure. He said – our party had the highest strike rate in Bihar during Nadda’s national presidentship. In Maharashtra also NDA has achieved majority. Our government came twice in UP. The number of our MLAs increased in Bengal. In Gujarat, we achieved a huge victory. In the North-East also, there is wonderful work. BJP took forward the program of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

There are assembly elections in 9 states of the country this year. At the same time, elections are expected to be held in Jammu and Kashmir between May and June. In this way, Nadda has been given this extension keeping in view the 10 assembly elections and the 2024 Lok Sabha elections next year.

Technically, the elections for the BJP organization could not be held in 2022, that’s why JP Nadda has been asked to continue in office till the Lok Sabha elections. According to the constitution of BJP, the national president can be elected only after organization elections in at least 50% i.e. half of the states. In this context, out of 29 states of the country, in 15 states, the election of the national president of BJP is held only after the election of the organization.

JP Nadda became the working president of the party in June 2019. After this, on 20 January 2020, he was made the full-time president. His election was unanimous. Earlier, former president Amit Shah was also given an extension till the Lok Sabha elections in 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *