Thursday, August 11th, 2022 05:22:33

Voting underway for by-polls to 53 assembly seats in 10 states

Updated: November 3, 2020 12:25 pm

Voting for by elections in 54 assembly seats in Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Odisha, Haryana, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Nagaland is also taking place today.

In Gujarat, voting for bypolls to 8 assembly constituencies began at 7 this morning. The voting will continue till 6 pm. Total 81 candidates are in fray for 8 seats. Polling has started for by-elections of 8 assembly seats Gujarat, which include Abadasa, Limbdi, Morbi, Dhari, Karjan, Gadhada SC and Dang and Kaprada ST seats. More than 18 lakh 17 thousand voters including more than 9 lakh women voters are eligible to use their franchise. Elaborate arrangements have been made for free and fair polling including tight security arrangements. Mask, Sanitizers, face shields and hand gloves have been provided to all polling staff including security personnel. Sanitizers, Soaps and water for hand wash have been kept at all polling booths for voters. Thermal screening is compulsory for all voters before entering the polling booth. 3024 polling booths have been set up at 1807 places. Maximum limit of voters per polling booth has been reduced from 1500 to 1000 to maintain social distancing.

Comments are closed here.