Monday, August 15th, 2022 22:04:58

Voting begins for Vice Presidential election, PM Modi casts his vote

Updated: August 6, 2022 12:35 pm

Voting for the post of Vice President has started today which will continue till 5 pm. After this the election result will also be declared today. The NDA has nominated Jagdeep Dhankhar and the opposition Margaret Alva for the post of Vice President. Prime Minister Narendra Modi was among the first to cast the vote to elect the new Vice President. Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh also cast his vote.

The Vice President is elected by an Electoral College consisting of the members of both houses of Parliament in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote. The total number of electors is 788 Members of Parliament. It includes 543 elected Members of the Lok Sabha and 233 elected Members of the Rajya Sabha as well as 12 nominated members of the Rajya Sabha. The counting will take place at the Parliament House after the voting today. The term of Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu is ending on 10th August.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.