Tuesday, August 16th, 2022 09:56:44

Voting begins for first phase of assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh; 58 constituencies across 11 districts go to polls in this phase

Updated: February 10, 2022 10:43 am

Voting has begun for the first phase of assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh. 58 Constituencies spread across 11 districts are going to polls in this phase.

The Polling began at 7 this morning. The voting will conclude at 6 in the evening.

A total of 623 candidates including 73 women are in the fray in the first phase. Around 2 crore 28 lakh voters are expected to cast their votes in this phase. These include, 1.24 crore male, 1.04 crore female and 1,448 third gender voters.

The state is going to polls in seven phases.
All the necessary facilities and security arrangements have been made to ensure free, fair, transparent and COVID-safe elections in the state today.
The districts where elections are being held today are Shamli (Prabuddh Nagar), Meerut, Hapur (Panchsheel Nagar), Muzaffarnagar, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Bulandshahar, Aligarh, Agra, Gautam Buddha Nagar and Mathura.
Now we go over Live to our correspondent Diwaker who is in Gautam Buddha Nagar district.

Question 1 : Diwaker, How is polling progressing?

Question 2 : Diwaker, Tell us about the prominent candidates in this phase of polling?

Thank You Diwaker for the update!

During 2017 Assembly Elections, Bharatiya Janata Party bagged 53 out of the 58 seats going to polls today, while Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party got two seats each and the remaining one went to Rashtriya Lok Dal.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party has formed an alliance with Anupriya Patel’s Apna Dal (Sonelal) and NISHAD Party-led by Sanjay Nishad. The Samajwadi Party has entered into an alliance with the Rashtriya Lok Dal, Shivpal Yadav’s Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia), Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party-led by Om Prakash Rajbhar, Janvadi Party (Socialist) and Apna Dal (Kamerawadi) led by Krishna Patel and Mahan Dal. All India Trinamool Congress has announced support to the Samajwadi Party, but decided not to field its candidates in the polls.

Meanwhile, the Congress and Bahujan Samaj Party have announced to go in for the upcoming polls without any alliance. Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen has formed an alliance with Babu Singh Kushwaha’s Jan Adhikar Party and Bharat Mukti Morcha. Bhim Army Chief Chandrashekhar Azad’s Azad Samaj Party has also floated an alliance with over 30 regional parties. The alliance is named Samajik Parivartan Morcha. The Janta Dal (United) is contesting the polls independently in the state.

The prominent BJP candidates participating in this phase include former Uttarakhand Governor Baby Rani Maurya, nine Ministers including Suresh Rana, Shrikant Sharma and Choudhari Lakshmi Narain, State General Secretary Pankaj Singh along with Sangeet Som, Satyaveer Tyagi and Mriganka Singh.

Comments are closed here.