Wednesday, December 7th, 2022 06:22:10

Significance of BJP’s victory in Telangana’s GHMC elections

By Uday India Bureau
Updated: December 18, 2020 1:23 pm

Recently in Telangana, Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation election was held where  the ruling Telangana Rastra Samithi (TRS) emerged as the largest party. TRS won 56 of the 150 division-GHMC elections while the BJP got 48 wards and the AIMIM led by Asaduddin Owaisi secured 44. The Congress could win only two divisions. In the previous election held in 2016, the TRS scored 99 seats, the AIMIM 44 and the BJP 4. This GHMC  elections was historic for BJP  as it managed to got huge support from the people despite very little presence in the state. In this elections, all the top leaders of BJP  from BJP President JP Nadda, Amit Shah to UP CM Yogi Adityanath, most of the top BJP leaders addressed the gathering. Here it is worth mentioning that after this unprecedented votes in this corporation elections, BJP has almost projected itself as the main emerging opposition before K Chandrashekhar Rao- led government. Many political analysts believe the BJP with big gains has emerged as a dominant force in the state and eyeing on winning 2023 Assembly polls. It is important to mention here that except Karnataka, BJP has almost no presence in South India. But, what has happened in GHMC, will surely pave the way for BJP in gaining space in every southern state. This BJP’s gain in GHMC is also a huge setback for regional AIMIM leader Asaduddin Owaisi who is known for doing Muslim politics across the country.

Here it is important to note that Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath had pitched for renaming Hyderabad as Bhagyanagar during his campaign. “Some people were asking me if Hyderabad can be renamed as Bhagyanagar. I said, ‘Why not?’ I told them that we renamed Faizabad as Ayodhya and Allahabad as Prayagraj after BJP came into power in Uttar Pradesh. Then why can’t Hyderabad be renamed as Bhagyanagar?” Adityanath had said at a roadshow.

After HGMC result, UP CM  Yogi Adityanath expressed gratitude and said, “many thanks to the people of `Bhagyanagar` for expressing unprecedented confidence in the leadership of the BJP and the respected Prime Minister Shri Modi Ji in the civic elections in Hyderabad.”

Reacting to BJP’s unprecedented gain in this municipal election, AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi said, “GHMC is a part of Telangana but mainland Telangana has a regional aspiration with a different political demography. KCR reflects all of these. TRS is a formidable force in mainland Telangana. KCR should think about the result. He’s an able politician.”

Amit Shah who was among the key campaigner in this elections while expressing his gratitude said, “People of Telangana have reposed faith in PM Narendra Modi led BJP’s politics of development.”

The Home Minister also congratulated BJP National President JP Nadda and Telangana BJP chief Bandi Sanjay Kumar for “astounding performance” in Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) elections 2020. “Congratulations to Shri JP Nadda ji and Shri Bandi Sanjay Kumar for BJP’s astounding performance in GHMC. Congratulations to Shri JP Nadda ji and Shri Bandi Sanjay Kumar for BJP’s astounding performance in GHMC. I applaud the hard work of our karyakartas of BJP Telangana,” Amit Shah added in the tweet.

History of Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation

  • In 1937 Banjara Hills, Jublee Hills etc were merged into Jublee Hills Municipality. In 1942, the Corporation status was removed due to certain issues. In 1945 Secunderabad Municipality was formed. In 1951 it became a Corporation.


  • 1869: the Kotwal-e-Baldia, the City Police Commissioner, began to look after the Municipal Administration.


  • 1869: Sir Salar Jung-I, the then Nizam, constituted the Department of Municipal and Road Maintenance and a Municipal Commissioner appointed for Hyderabad Board and Chadarghat Board.


  • Hyderabad was 55 sq km; population: 3.5 lakhs


  • 1886: Chadargat became Chadarghat Municipality


  • 1921: Hyderabad Municipality increased to 84 sq km


  • 1933: The two Boards amalgamated into a Corporation and given statutory status under the Hyderabad Municipal Act.


  • 1934: First elections held for Municipal Corporation, and a Standing Committee appointed.


  • 1937: Banjara Hills and Jubilee Hills merged into Jubilee Hills Municipality


  • 1942: Corporation status removed due to certain issues 1945: Secunderabad Municipality formed.


  • 1950: two separate corporations created under the Hyderabad Corporation Act, 1950: one for the city of Hyderabad and another for the city of Secunderabad.


  • August 3rd 1960: the two Corporations again merged into a single Corporation by the Hyderabad Municipal Corporation Act, 1955


  • 1956: Hyderabad became the capital of Andhra Pradesh after the state was formed.


  • 1956 to March 2007 sees many changes and services provided to citizens. City divided into 4 Zones and 7 Circles.


  • In 1960, the budget of the Corporation was 1.5 crores; raised to 1000 crores in the next 45 years.


  • In April 2007 onwards it became Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation, based on a notification released on 16th April 2007 by the Government of Andhra Pradesh.


  • City was divided into 5 Zones (North, South, Central, East and West) and 18 Circles.
  • 4 City grew from 175 sq km to 650 sq km. Now the population is over 60 lakhs.


By Uday India Bureau

Comments are closed here.