Tuesday, March 28th, 2023 01:55:55

Shelly Oberoi becomes mayor of Delhi, defeats BJP candidate Rekha Gupta

Updated: February 22, 2023 4:40 pm

Aam Aadmi Party’s candidate Shelly Oberoi has been elected as the new mayor of Delhi. He has defeated BJP candidate Rekha Gupta. Aam Aadmi Party candidate Shelly Oberoi got 150 votes in the mayoral election, while BJP candidate Rekha Gupta got 116 votes.

According to sources, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MPs Meenakshi Lekhi and Hans Raj Hans were among the first to vote. Besides them, BJP MPs Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, Harsh Vardhan, Gautam Gambhir, Ramesh Bidhuri and Manoj Tiwari and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MPs Sanjay Singh, ND Gupta and Sushil Kumar Gupta also voted. AAP MLAs Durgesh Pathak and Atishi also cast their votes.

BJP corporator and party’s mayoral candidate Rekha Gupta, AAP’s Shaili Oberoi and deputy mayoral candidate Ale Mohammad Iqbal, former North Delhi mayor Raja Iqbal Singh, AAP’s leader in the House Mukesh Goyal and several other corporators also voted. Have inserted

This election is being held after the Supreme Court’s order after three unsuccessful attempts to hold the election for the post of Mayor.

The meeting of the Corporation House began at 11.30 am, half an hour late from the scheduled time, in which elections are being held for the posts of mayor, deputy mayor and six members of the standing committee.

Temporary Presiding Officer Satya Sharma said, “I appeal to all to maintain order in the House.”
She announced that pens and mobile phones are banned in the polling area.

Following the Supreme Court’s order, Delhi Lieutenant Governor VK Saxena had last week given permission to convene a meeting of the corporation’s house to conduct the election for the post of mayor.

The top court had on February 17 ordered the issuance of notice within 24 hours for convening the first meeting of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) to decide the date for the election of the mayor, deputy mayor and members of the civic body’s standing committee.

The court issued the order after hearing a petition by Shelly Oberoi, the mayoral candidate of the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

The top court had also said that the members nominated by the Lieutenant Governor to the MCD cannot vote to elect the mayor.

The AAP had won 134 wards in the MCD polls held on December 4, ending the 15-year-old BJP rule in the civic body. BJP had finished second with victory in 104 wards. The Congress had won nine seats in the 250-member corporation house.

During the proceedings of the House on Wednesday, AAP corporator Shweta Nigam was allowed to vote first due to ill health. BJP MLA Anil Bajpai came in a wheelchair to cast his vote due to health issues.

As per the Delhi Municipal Corporation (DMC) Act, 1957, the mayor and deputy mayor are elected in the first session of the House after the municipal elections.

It is more than two months since the municipal elections were held, which were held on December 4 last year.

The meeting of the House was called for the first time on January 6, a month after the municipal elections. The House was adjourned following a heated exchange between members of the BJP and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Subsequently, the second and third meetings called on January 24 and again on February 6 failed to complete the exercise and both the meetings were adjourned without electing a mayor.

posted by uday india

Comments are closed here.