Thursday, August 11th, 2022 14:01:46

Rajyasabha election: 4 candidates from Karnataka, 1 from Arunachal Pradesh elected unopposed 

Updated: June 13, 2020 12:14 pm

All four candidates from Karnataka were elected unanimously to the Rajya Sabha yesterday. The newly elected MPs include former Prime Minister and Janata Dal (Secular) Chief H. D. Deve Gowda, veteran Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge and Bharatiya Janata Party nominees Ashok Gasti and Iranna Kadadi.

Returning Officer M S Vishalakshi announced the result as the number of valid nominations did not exceed the vacancies in the Rajya Sabha from the state. Both Gowda and Kharge had faced defeat in the Lok Sabha Elections held in 2019. Iranna Kadadi and Ashok Gasti of BJP are former ABVP workers who have been associated with the BJP for over three decades.

The elections were announced to find replacements for Rajeev Gowda and B K Hariprasad from Congress, Prabhakar Kore from BJP and D. Kupendra Reddy from JD(S) whose term is scheduled to end on 25th of June.

In Arunachal Pradesh, BJP candidate Nabam Rebia has been elected unopposed to the lone Rajya Sabha seat. He was declared elected to the Upper House by Returning Officer Kago Habung after his nomination paper was found valid. The RO handed over the certificate of election to Mr Rebia in the State Assembly in Itanagar, in presence of Assembly Speaker P D Sona, Chief Minister Pema Khandu, Cabinet Ministers and MLAs.

Congratulating the newly elected member, Chief Minister Pema Khandu termed it as historic moment for BJP, as for the first time three MPs (two Lok Sabha and one Rajya Sabha) are from the party.

Comments are closed here.