Monday, July 4th, 2022 20:38:03

Karnataka cabinet reshuffle to take place today 

Updated: January 13, 2021 1:09 pm
Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa is expanding his cabinet and the oath taking ceremony will be held today afternoon. Speaking to media persons in Bengaluru yesterday, the Chief Minister said that seven to eight legislators will be sworn in today by the Governor. The State cabinet has a total strength of 34 and seven seats are vacant at present.

This will be the third expansion since Yediyurappa took over as CM in July 2019. In August 2019, 17 ministers were inducted, while in February 2020, ten newcomers to the BJP were inducted into the Cabinet.  The Chief Minister had met BJP national President J P Nadda and other senior leaders of the party in New Delhi recently before announcing the cabinet expansion. Cabinet expansion derives importance in the event of by election to Maski and Basavakalyana assembly segments and Belagavi Lok Sabha seat which is vacant after the death of former Union minister Suresh Angadi.

Comments are closed here.