Wednesday, November 30th, 2022 20:15:17

European countries ban flights from Britain due to new strain of coronavirus

Updated: December 21, 2020 1:24 pm
A number of European countries have imposed travel bans on the UK after it reported a more-infectious coronavirus variant. Ireland, Germany, France, Italy, the Netherlands and Belgium have decided to halt flights. An European Union meeting today will discuss a more co-ordinated response to the new challenge. The new variant has spread quickly in London and south-east England.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson has introduced a new tier four level of restrictions for those areas, scrapping a planned relaxation of rules over the Christmas period. Top health officials said, the new variant is proving to be up to 70 percent more infectious. Health Secretary Matt Hancock said, the new strain is out of control and they have to get it under control.

Europe is expected to start a massive vaccination campaign after Christmas following the United States and Britain.

Comments are closed here.