Tuesday, August 16th, 2022 16:42:08

Eight MPs suspended from Rajya Sabha

Updated: September 21, 2020 12:09 pm
Eight Rajya Sabha members have been suspended from the Upper House for one week for their unruly behavior during the passage of two farm Bills yesterday.

They are Congress members Rajiv Satav, Ripun Bora and Nazeer Hussain, TMC members Derek O’Brien and Dola Sen, CPI(M) MPs K.K. Ragesh and Elamaram Kareem and Aam Aadmi Party MP Sanjay Singh. Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs, V. Muraleedharan moved a motion to suspend these members for creating ruckus and disrespecting the Chair by their unruly behavior. The motion was accepted with voice vote and Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu announced the names of the suspended members.

Mr. Naidu also condemned yesterday’s incident terming it unacceptable and condemnable. He also said that the incident has tarnished the image of the Upper House and it was a bad day. Mr. Naidu also said some members used un-parliamentary language and threatened Deputy Chairman Harivansh. Mr. Naidu added that the agitating members also defied social distancing and other Covid norms.

Comments are closed here.