Sunday, February 5th, 2023 10:22:47

Draupadi Murmu vs. Yashwant Sinha: Who will be the next President of India?

Updated: July 21, 2022 11:22 am

The Presidential election result will be out today. NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu will win or opposition’s Yashwant Sinha, it will be decided. However, the one word you will hear again and again today is the electoral college. However, over 99 per cent electors’ turnout was recorded in the Presidential Election. Hundred per cent voting by MLAs was reported from 11 States and Union Territory of Puducherry. The States are Chattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim and Tamil Nadu. Former Jharkhand Governor Droupadi Murmu is the NDA candidate for the Presidential Election. Regional parties including Biju Janata Dal, YSR Congress party, Janata Dal-Secular, Shiromani Akali Dal, AIADMK and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha are supporting Ms Murmu. Former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha is the Opposition candidate for the country’s top post. The term of the incumbent President Ram Nath Kovind will end on 24th of this month.

After the voting for the presidential election was over, PC Modi, the Secretary General of the Rajya Sabha, had said that the total voter turnout in the Parliament House was 99.18%. In the voting held on July 18, 728 votes were cast in the booths made in Parliament. Of these, 719 were MPs, while 9 MLAs were also allowed to vote in the Parliament House. Out of the total fixed votes in the Parliament, 98.91% voting took place.

Meanwhile it is discussed that a lot of votes have been cast in favor of Murmu. If this claim turns out to be true in the counting, then she will be the first tribal woman president of the country. Against this backdrop, preparations for the celebration have also started in Rairangpur, Odisha, the native place of Draupadi Murmu. Sweets will be distributed after the results are out. Laddus have started to be made in Rairangpur. Not only this, preparations have been made to take out a victory procession after the victory.

Comments are closed here.