Friday, March 31st, 2023 03:18:13

Campaigning intensifies for assembly elections in Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and Manipur

Updated: February 17, 2022 11:10 am

The campaigning has intensified further for the Single-Phase assembly election in Punjab and polling for the remaining phases in Uttar Pradesh. The Star Campaigners and prominent leaders of various political parties are engaged in public rallies. The door-to-door canvassing and virtual appeals to the voters also continue.

Prime Minister and Senior BJP leader Narendra Modi addressed an election rally in Sitapur district of Uttar Pradesh yesterday. Addressing the public meeting, the Prime Minister said, BJP government in Uttar Pradesh means control over Mafia elements, security to women and freedom to celebrate all the festivals. He said, BJP government in the state means implementation of Central welfare schemes at double speed.

Other party leaders including Rajnath Singh, Piyush Goel, Yogi Adityanath and Uma Bharti also campaigned in different parts of state. Congress general secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra held door to door canvassing in Kanpur and Unnao districts.  Samajwadi party chief Akhilesh Yadav campaigned in Farrukhabad district.

Home Minister Amit Shah will address public meetings at Firozabad, Mainpuri and Lakhimpur Kheri in Uttar Pradesh today.

Uttar Pradesh is going to polls in seven phases. The first phase was held in 10th of February and polling for the second phase took place on 14th of this month.

The Third Phase of polling in Uttar Pradesh will be conducted on 20th of February in 59 Assembly Constituencies across 16 districts for which 627 candidates are in fray. In addition, the Single-Phase polling in Punjab will be held on all 117 Assembly Constituencies in the state on Sunday for which, a total of 1,304 candidates are contesting.

Today is the last day for filing of nominations for the Seventh and Last Phase of Assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh. The scrutiny of papers will be undertaken tomorrow. The last date for withdrawal of candidature will be 21st of February.

AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi will also campaign for party candidates in Kannauj district. BSP supremo Mayawati will be in Banda for campaigning while Samajwadi party chief Akhilesh Yadav will campaign in Etawah, Farrukhabad and Mainpuri districts. Chandrashekhar Azad president of Azad samaj party will campaign for party candidates in Kanpur dehat district.

Comments are closed here.