Thursday, August 11th, 2022 11:19:00

BJP sweeps Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council elections to retain power

Updated: June 13, 2022 2:19 pm

BJP has won all the 26 Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council seats for which elections were held. With this, BJP retained power in the autonomous council, as the party had won the last elections too in 2017.

The Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council election which was held on Wednesday recorded a voter turnout of 77.96 percent and a total of 154 candidates were in fray for the 26 seats. Apart from BJP and Congress, other parties contesting the polls included newly formed All Party Hills Leaders Conference (APHLC), Autonomous State Demand Committee (ASDC) and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), making it a multi-cornered fight. BJP had contested in all 26 seats, Congress in 24 seats, AAP in 10, and CPI (ML) had contested in 15 seats.

The Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council is an autonomous district council in Assam set up under the sixth schedule of constitution of India. Two districts, Karbi Anglong and West Karbi Anglong come under the administrative jurisdiction of the council. The headquarter of the council is located at Diphu in Karbi Anglong district.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has thanked the people of Karbi Anglong for their continuous faith in BJP and assured them that BJP will keep working for Assam’s progress. In a tweet, Mr Modi said, the  results in Karbi Anglong is historic. He said, the efforts of BJP Karyakartas have been outstanding, kudos to them.

Comments are closed here.