Friday, December 9th, 2022 12:39:51

BJP sweeps all six Municipal Corporation elections in Gujarat

Updated: February 24, 2021 12:44 pm

In Gujarat, Bharatiya Janata Party has retained power in all the six municipal corporations namely Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Bhavnagar and Jamnagar. Counting of votes for the six municipal corporations conducted peacefully in the state yesterday.

Out of the total 575 seats of the six municipal corporations, BJP emerged victorious in 482 seats while Congress got 55 seats.  Aam Aadmi Party which contested Civic polls for the first time in the state got a massive victory in Surat. The party won 27 seats, all in Surat. Bahujan Samaj Party got 3 seats while 1 seat was won by an independent candidate. Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM, which also contested local body polls in the state for the first time, won seven seats in Ahmedabad.   Gujarat Chief minister Vijay Rupani thanked voters for their trust in BJP after the party’s victory in civic polls. In the by polls for two seats of Junagadh municipal corporation,  both Congress and BJP won one seat each.  Rallies were organised by BJP workers across all major cities yesterday.

Comments are closed here.