Tuesday, July 5th, 2022 10:02:14

BJP retains Uttarakhand and Goa Chief Ministers for second consecutive term

Updated: March 22, 2022 1:08 pm

BJP has announced the names of Chief Ministers of Uttarakhand and Goa. Pushkar Singh Dhami in Uttarakhand and Pramod Sawant in Goa will be Chief Ministers for their second consecutive terms. The Legislative party of the newly-elected MLAs of both the states elected their Leaders yesterday, eleven days after the Assembly election results were announced.

In Uttarakhand, Mr. Dhami met Governor Gurmeet Singh at Rajbhawan yesterday to give a letter to form the government in the state. It is expected that the swearing-in ceremony will be held tomorrow, in Parade Ground, Dehradun.

Party’s central observer and Union Minister Rajnath Singh announced the name of Pushkar Singh Dhami as leader of the BJP legislative party yesterday. Union Minister Meenakshi Lekhi, BJP Rajya Sabha MP Anil Baluni, and others were also present during the meeting.

Earlier, Governor Gurmeet Singh administered the oath of office and secrecy to Pro-tem Speaker Banshidhar Bhagat at Raj Bhawan. After that, Mr. Bhagat administered oaths to newly elected MLAs in the Assembly. Congress MLA Tilak Raj Behar did not take the oath due to ill-health.

BJP has stormed back to power for an unprecedented second successive term in the hill state winning 47 seats in the 70 member Legislative Assembly.

In Goa, the name of Dr Pramod Sawant as the Chief Minister was announced after the BJP Legislative Party meeting in Panaji last evening. Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar announced the name of Dr Sawant in a Press Conference. Mr Tomar expressed confidence that Dr Sawant will ensure the overall development of Goa for the next five years.

Comments are closed here.