Monday, July 4th, 2022 14:39:55

BJP bags 19 out of 28 seats in Madhya Pradesh Assembly bypolls

Updated: November 11, 2020 12:40 pm
In Uttar Pradesh, ruling BJP has retained 6 seats, while one seat has gone to Samajwadi party. Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the victory in the by-elections.

Madhya Pradesh, BJP has bagged 19 out of 28 seats where bypolls were held.

Opposition Congress has won nine seats. In the 2018 state assembly elections, the Congress had won 27 of these seats.

The results are significant for several reasons but the most important is that the BJP has got a clear majority in the 230-member state assembly by raising its strength from 107 to 126 MLAs.

Comments are closed here.