Wednesday, August 17th, 2022 10:42:39

Bihar: Polling begins for 2nd phase of assembly elections

Updated: November 3, 2020 12:23 pm
Polling has begun for the second phase of assembly elections in Bihar. Voting is taking place in 94 constituencies spread over 17 districts including Patna, Vaishali, Sitamarhi, Darbhanga and Madhubani. Polling, which began at 7 this morning, will end at 6 pm. Over 2.86 crore voters will decide the fate  of 1,463 candidates. They include 146 women and one transgender.

Elaborate arrangements have been made to ensure free and fair polling. Chief Electoral Officer HR Srinivasa said, polling will be upto 4 pm in eight Naxal-affected constituencies including Raghopur, Paru, Minapur and Alauli. Out of 41 thousand 362 booths eight thousand 694 booths are sensitive. Election Commission has made arrangements of live webcasting from 3,548 booths.

Comments are closed here.