Wednesday, August 17th, 2022 15:20:27

487 polling stations in 5 assembly constituencies in Manipur to be manned by women officials only

Updated: February 9, 2022 10:51 am

Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra has announced that 487 polling stations in 5 constituencies of Manipur will be exclusively manned by women officials in the assembly polls. These constituencies are Singjamei, Thoubal, Yaiskul, Wangkhei and Churachandpur. Mr Chandra made the announcement during his two-day visit to the state to review poll preparedness.

The CEC said, the idea behind the move is to provide a pleasant voting experience for female voters and promote equal gender participation in the upcoming polls. Mr Chandra the election commission will provide postal ballots to senior citizens, COVID-19 patients, and people connected to notified essential services for casting their votes easily.

Assembly polls in Manipur will be held in two phases on February 27 and March 3. The counting of votes is scheduled for March 10.

Meanwhile, in Manipur, the filing of nominations for the first phase of assembly polls concluded yesterday. Scrutiny will be held today and the last date of withdrawal of candidature is 11th February. Meanwhile, the submission of nomination papers is going on for the second phase. The last date of the filing nomination paper for this phase is 11th of this month. AIR correspondent reports,The voting for 38 assembly constituencies for five districts of Manipur will be held in the first phase on 27th February.

The nomination filing for the first phase concluded yesterday. One hundred seventy-six candidates filed their nomination papers for the first phase.

The Saikot (ST) assembly constituencies has seen nine nomination filing till the last date while Heingang assembly constituency have only two nomination papers filing including Chief Minister N. Biren Singh. Nambol and Thanga assembly constituencies has also witness one BJP candidate and one INC candidate each filing their nomination papers for the first phase polls.

Meanwhile, the filing of nomination papers for remaining 22 assembly constituencies is going on now. Moreover, the election campaigning has gain momentum for the both phases in the State.

Comments are closed here.